SWS Percussion Ensemble

01b SWSPE-web

The Singapore Wind Symphony’s Percussion Ensemble (SWSPE) is a community-based arts group affiliated to the Singapore Wind Symphony (SWS). Established in 2004 by Mr Willy Tan, timpanist from SWS, the ensemble is committed to promoting quality percussion ensemble music and literacy. Members of the ensemble gather from a range of professions – professional musicians, educators, executives, national servicemen, college and tertiary students.

Since its inception in 2004, SWSPE has held numerous percussion ensemble performances including 7 concerts for “Percussive Elementz” series and the current chamber performances in the “Essentially Percussion” series. Through the performances, SWSPE has the privilege to work with outstanding percussionists including Mr Tama Goh, Ms Kae Hashimoto, Mr Pang Huei Yuan, Mr Dennis Sim, Mr Iskandar Rashid and many more. SWSPE has also supported the performances and commissioning of several local percussion ensemble works including I’m Exhausted By My Own Heartbeats by Philip Tan and Gekiranbu by Winton Yuichiro White. The performance repertoire listing can be found here.

In 2013, SWSPE participated in the prestigious World Music Contest, Percussion Ensemble (First Division) and has been presented the Gold With Distinction Award. This is the highest accolade won by any Singapore percussion ensemble so far and SWSPE is honoured to have made history on the international ground for Singapore.

SWSPE has also successfully organised the inaugural Singapore Percussion Ensemble Festival (SPEF) at the Esplanade Recital Studio in 2014. SPEF is an affirmation of SWSPE’s commitment to nurture and grow younger percussionists in performing and exploring percussion ensemble music.

SWSPE consist of the following members:

Group Leader

Willy Tan

Artistic Director

Iskandar Rashid


Alfri Mohd Yusoff
Aliza Wong
Ang Ching Hong
Brenson Yam
Conrad Chung
Daniel Ho
Daryl Koh
Deng Wanlin
Lim Xing Hong
Low Xing Ern
Maisarah Sainuddin
Nicola Tan
Rei Lim
Tan Lee Ying
Tan Wan Ching
Thaddeus Chung
Wayne Wong